Friday, March 14, 2008

Three Views of Classical Music - Saturday with The Reading Symphony Orchestra

Reading Symphony Orchestra
Date: Saturday Mar 15, 2008
Time: 08:00 pm
Venue: Sovereign Performing Arts Center
Price - Range $60.00 - $17.00
Tickets Available by Clicking Here

Three Views of Classical Music

Classical Symphony

Cello Concerto No. 1
Yumi Kendall, soloist

Symphony No. 40

The long-awaited return of Prokofiev’s “Classical” Symphony to the RSO shows one view of classical music—a modern pastiche of the eighteenth century style. This symphony was composed by Prokofiev as a student exercise, but gained nearly-immediate popularity. While reminiscent of Mozart’s era, it’s stylishly modern—and deceptively difficult. Saint-Saens’ cello concerto is more in line with the general public’s view of classical music—really, romantic era music—with lush melodies and challenging solo passages. We will end with the oldest of the evening’s three compositions: Mozart’s Symphony #40, a late work reflecting his mature style. The somewhat somber, stressful tone of the symphony reflects the chaos of the middle-aged Mozart’s world—and indeed could be seen as a precursor to similar emotions in the Vaughan Williams Sixth Symphony, performed earlier this season.

No comments: