Saturday, January 17, 2009

RSO Jan. 17, 2009

Reading Symphony Orchestra #3
Date: Saturday Jan 17, 2009
Time: 08:00 pm
Venue: Sovereign Performing Arts Center
Price - Range $62.00 - $17.00
Tickets Available by Clicking Here
Ticket prices: $62, $56, $49, $39, $29 , $17

C.P.E. Bach: Hamburg Symphony No. 4 in A major
Mozart: Piano Concerto K.488 in A major
Alon Goldstein, soloist.

Mendelssohn: Symphony No.3 in A Minor, Op. 56 “Scottish”

A common ingredient for Mozart and Mendelssohn? It’s folk and popular music. While classical concerts today may seem light-years removed from popular music downloads, the gap wasn’t always so great. Mozart drew upon hugely popular comic opera (and its wild excesses) as inspiration for parts of this piano concerto—yet the touching melancholy of the second movement is a marked contrast (and a favorite of pianists). Mendelssohn drew upon Scottish folk melodies (from an 1829 visit) in his third symphony—inspiring the gratitude of its dedicatee, Queen Victoria. We’ll also hear one of the six “Hamburg” symphonies of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, second son of the immortal Johann Sebastian Bach. C.P.E. Bach is known as one of the creators of the “classical” style of music.

No comments: